Posted by: hotstylemusicandreochoa | March 16, 2010

HIP/HOP’S HOTTEST MCEE TODAY

HOTSTYLE MUSIC WEBSITE: http://www.hotstylemusic.net

POWERMOVES EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH BOLAJI

From Long Island, N.Y Bolaji took an interest in Hip Hop Music and decided to pursue a career in displaying his ability to produce & rhyme.

He’s performed & collaborated with artists to form and release Original Ruffnecks, The Rap group High Council & worked with  a number of DJ’s & independent outfits on numerous mix Cd’s and compilations, some of the titles include. “Explicit”, “Unsigned All-Stars” & “Project S.C.A.R.” , ” Hip Hop Music”, The Mickboogie cd release entitled “The Big Picture”, DJ Lordie’s “Gangster Music 6 ” & more.

Currently Bolaji has independently released “THE VINYLS”, A 16 song solo collection that listeners are calling a mix of innovative production, vibrant lyrics, fresh concepts, catchy hooks.

Bolaji shows he possess the diverse lyrical ability to attract along with the production skills to become one of the greatest names in the game.

Get ready for another back 2 back release with Bolaji’s highly anticipated self titled release due to drop in 2010.

Check out some of the bangers already available for download exclusively  on
http://www.hotstylemusic.net

BOLAJI GETTIN READY TO PUT LONG ISLAND, NY ON THE MAP! POWERMOVES URBAN REVIEW!!
BOLAJI IS GETTING READY TO TAKE THE WORLD BY STORM! STRAIGHT OUT OF LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK! THIS MC IS NO ORDINARY ARTIST. IN THIS EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH BOLAJI HE SPEAKS CANDIDLY ABOUT HATERS, KANYE WEST, HIPHOP MUSIC TODAY AND HIS DESIRE TO ONE DAY WORK WITH MARY J. BLIGE! For more on Bolaji to WWW.MYSPACE.COM/BIGCITYSTYLE

If your an Artist, DJ, Producer, Manager in the game and are looking for heavy promotion and to get your story out! Get at us! We are hitting thousands and thousands daily!! Email us at powermovesent@gmail.com

1. Tell us about you and your career?
My birth name is Bolaji Barber born in Strong Island N.Y & raised by the entire state and what I mean by that is I grew up in a single family environment that moved around a lot but as for me and my undying passion for Hip Hop music, I took an interest in wanting to join the ranks in the late 80’s, N. Babylon NY was where I found my love for Hip Hop & ability to bless the microphone, Having grown up in an area where people like Freddie C. (Supreme Force/Bumpy Knuckles), LL Cool J, Eric B & Rakim, JVC Force, De la soul, Public Enemy, EPMD/Hit Squad, all getting it and putting down & plenty of other artists in and out of Charlie Marotta & David Greenberg’s studio you had plenty of heads to contend with and inspire you to claim your space amongst the crowd. I also can’t ignore the fact that that’s where I lived when I secured my Zakia Records deal & dropped my 1st commercial release Massive Material / Run 4 Cover back in 1990. Since then still using my real 1st name also as my artist name “BOLAJI” I’ve collaborated with other artists to form and release The Rap group High Council & also worked with DJ’s & independent outfits on numerous mix CD’s and compilations. Some of the titles include, “Explicit”, “Unsigned All-Stars” & “Project S.C.A.R.” Vintage Records ” Hip Hop Music”, The Mick boogie CD release entitled “The Big Picture”, DJ Lordie’s “Gangster Music 6 ” & more. 
 Currently I’ve been keeping my presence in the game with a 16 song indie CD entitled “The Vinyl’s” a collection of what my listeners are calling innovative production, vibrant lyrics, fresh concepts, unforgettable hooks & killer punch lines but even after receiving great comments like that, I’m still an artist that realizes it not only takes skill/dedication but it also takes an enormous amount of money/promotion and competent team to break a new artist.

2. What does Hip Hop stand for today?
I believe Hip Hop still stands for the community & breed of people that have taken a language and created a culture. But now it’s become a profitable entertainment business and as with all business it has a way of redefining itself quarterly. But seriously to answer the question, Hip Hop stands for every one of us that love it!

3. Is Hip Hop dying, like most artists are saying?
No, Hip Hop as we knew it is, But Hip Hop music today as I said previously has just redefined itself and a lot of artists have NOT come to grips with the business aspect of Hip Hop. The Hip Hop music the artists are saying is dying is still being recorded its just not being promoted. Many artists have turned to the internet and independent distributors to display their music to the listeners but they don’t have the spending capital necessary to move the project with the proper promoters and targeting techniques it takes to successfully market their works… so to answer the question they’re saying it’s dying because they are not hearing the music they love, due to lack of proper targeting and promotion e.g. people tend to gravitate towards what others talk about so to get them to talk, you have to promote.

4. What is your biggest obstacle?
Balancing my time between work, family and Hip Hop music. It’s a challenge at times to explain the inner workings of what it takes to complete a project especially when you’re the lyricist, producer, 9 to 5 holding it down father of a family and deal with the regular day to day operations of an independent company.

5. How do you feel about local radio?
I feel local radio has very little if any interest in their local talent unless their spending campaign money, after all they are still a business which is not the same as saying I agree with the way they handle their business. I think they should open up to their audience and give their supporters more opportunities to show their talent.

6. What other artists do you respect for their game?
I respect artists that follow their hearts and speak and produce what they want to hear not ALWAYS what their told wants to be heard. Artists like Kanye West, Jay-Z, Dr. Dre, J. Ortiz, KRS-ONE & Ludacris to name a few.

7. How do you deal with haters and MySpace gangsters?
I don’t deal with them. I just give them more of the Hip Hop skills (Lyrics & production) they love to privately emulate and hate me for.

8. What is your take on our economy?
It’s a mess and it has been for a long time now. This economy has been facing stability and growth issues for over 10 years now In my opinion, it’s far from being the return of the great depression, this is an unfortunate time but it could definitely be a lot worse, yes we have a huge unemployment rate, banks failures, and more stock market losses than we would like to see but I believe the reason why people are feeling this set back so early in the stages of recession is because we as a people have a much higher standard of living now and most of us make financial commitments that we really can’t afford. We have a rough road ahead but if we learn to utilize what we have we’ll need less to rebuild the economy.

9. Who would you like to do a feature with and why?
I always wanted to rock one with Mary J. Blige and still do because when she puts it down it’s always heartfelt and passionate and those are two of my most important values in creating the music I take part in.

10. What is your opinion on Kanye’s outburst at every event?
My opinion to his outburst might surprise you and here is why. I don’t always agree with his timing or what he’s saying but I really respect this man for speaking his mind. I’d much rather want to be around someone that tells it like it is or like it is to them then someone to keep it to themselves and talk loose about me to someone else.

11. What is your advice for an upcoming rapper?
Be yourself, Take your time, develop your craft, practice your performance, always take part in every promotional event you can and most of all never sign a contract without a lawyer just because you think you could understand what you read because it probably says something different.

12. How do fans reach you or hear your music?
Fans can reach me @ bolaji@hotstylemusic.net and hear my music on the internet @ http://www.hotstylemusic.net, http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/Bolaji1 http://www.myspace.com/bigcitystyle , iTunes, facebook, Amazon, emusic, tradebit, blackplanet music, Rhapsody, Media Net, Music now, Reverbnation, GreatindieMusic, Inprodicon, Didiom, ZUNE, Last.fm, Amie Street, OD2, Shockhound, lala, Verizon V-cast, liquid digital, Spotify, Napster & Digstation.

13. Shout Outs!!
I shout it out to everyone in love with Hip Hop music, everyone that’s always supported what I do on the daily, my family and my Hotstyle Music Camp.

HOTSTYLE MUSIC Website: http://www.hotstylemusic.net

Myspace URL http://myspace.com/bigcitystyle

Contact Email Address bolaji@hotstylemusic.net


Leave a comment

Categories